Internal Quality Assurance

There are four steps in the internal quality assurance process at ULAB – plan, do, check and action (PDCA). PDCA (plan–do–check–act or plan–do–check–adjust) is an iterative four-step management method used in business for the control and continuous improvement of processes and products. It is also known as the Deming circle/cycle/wheel, Shewhart cycle, control circle/cycle, or plan–do–study–act (PDSA). This may be represented in the figure next:

To ensure smooth process implementation, the IQAC is engaged in capacity building and information management. It, in collaboration with ULAB’s Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL), conducts workshops on the following areas:

  • University Governance
  • Strategic Planning
  • Curriculum Development
  • Assessment of Learning
  • Faculty Ethics
  • Course Report Writing
  • Monitoring and Evaluation
  • Self-Assessment Report and Improvement Plan Writing

To support internal quality assurance, the IQAC has set up an information management system, composed of a website, report templates (online) and database.